
Rule 27-2 – Provisional Ball 
(R & A Decisions on the Rules of Golf 2010 – 2011) 

 

27-2 PROVISIONAL BALL 

 

a. Procedure 

If a ball may be lost outside a water hazard or may be out of bounds, to save time the player 

may play another ball provisionally in accordance with Rule 27-1. 

 

The player must inform his opponent in match play or his marker or a fellow-competitior in 

stroke play that he intends to play a provisional ball, and he must play it before he or his 

partner goes forward to search for the original ball. 

 

If he fails to do so and plays another ball, that ball is not a provisional ball and becomes the 

ball in play under penalty of stroke and distance. (Rule 27-1); the original ball is lost. 

 

 

b. When Provisional Ball Becomes Ball in Play 

The player may play a provisional ball until he reaches the place where the original ball is 

likely to be.  If he makes a stroke with the provisional ball from the place where the original 

ball is likely to be or from a point nearer the hole than that place, the original ball is lost and 

the provisional ball becomes the ball in play under penalty of stroke and distance. (Rule 27-1) 

 

 


